First steps with PyQt

I have meant to do some user interface programming for a while already, but the problem has been that I didn’t know enough of PGU to be able to do anything remotely useful in short period of time. That coupled with fact that I don’t know much about user interface design to begin with made it really hard to start though.

Couple days ago I gave a try to PyQt for a fun and results were more than encouraging. In a short period of time I had new user interface, with almost same functionality as before. I can walk around, fight monsters and get feedback from the world in form of textual events. Walking stairs doesn’t work correctly yet (well, walking works, but the displayed graphics isn’t updated correctly) and I’m missing inventory and line of sight routines. I’m pretty confident though that I’m going to continue with PyQt instead of PGU.

Sadly, PyQy doesn’t seem to have support for joysticks out of the box and the user interface I’m currently working with doesn’t really yield itself for joystick that well. I’m probably going to drop plan for joypad playable roguelike and return to it later, if I still feel it’s a good idea.

2 thoughts on “First steps with PyQt

  1. I haven’t pursued it yet, but I did some searching. Seems that quite many have chosen to use pygame to interface with joystick and handled everything else on PyQt-side. That probably would be a good idea, since pygame works on both Linux and Windows.

Leave a Reply

